Greetings from the land UNDER Down Under…

by

First of all, I apologise for abandoning thePlog for a short while (almost 3 months eh?). RL had caught up with me, OZ was a “meh” experience, and the fact that my whole family has migrated to NZ to a little BIG town called Hamilton has resulted in this gross neglect of an otherwise enjoyable pastime of mine.

Now… RL caught up in the sense that I had started packing for the NZ move. Dust was everywhere, tables flat packed, cupboards emptied… there was a lot of work done in that tiny 20×90 double storey terrace house, as we eventually filled a 20ft container with ALL our worldly possessions. What we left out was the washing machine and the kitchen sink, as they were of no use in our new home. Container was sent off in three months ( long period, but it was broken by my 1 and a half month sojourn to my new home in NZ) and then I did a couple more things in Msia (both official and unofficial 🙂  )and then returning to NZ on the 19th of Nov. the following weeks were full of activity as I had relatives coming in one after the other … ( same as in Klang!) visiting and entertaining… hell that was fun! As the container (arrived AKL port 30th Nov) was bloody late due to the stupid strike in Auckland, we couldn’t do anything other than clean up and run around to the biosecurity offices, customs and the freighters to ensure everything went smoothly. The container arrived on the 10th, which so happened to be my parents silver anniversary of the marriage, so unpacking the container was like unwrapping a 8 tonne present from Malaysia. The main highlight was the leather settee set bought brand new, being my father’s gift. The leather settee was bought based on a single seater we sighted at the factory showroom, and was valued by a neighbour (who was a furniture dealer) to be around 8kNZ$…. good to know that all the money spent on the couch as well as the container shipping fees can be recouped by selling the couch!

Most of the goods are still in the garage, yet to be unboxed and dank, smelling  of bromide gas, remnants of the fumigation process required by NZ Biosecurity for ALL products brought in, to prevent any “hitch hikers” (Remember the Black Plague anyone?)

I had immediately unboxed and put my rig together…. and then fired her up… to no avail. My 3yr old rig refuses to fire up, and upon closer inspection, there was corrosion around the capacitors on board the mobo.  NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

I cannot say what could have happened, but I would volunteer that it could be the fact that bad weather could have caused it.. extreeme cold? bah…

so I would prolly have to use this even older lappie (5yrs old) to do stuff…. urgh…. I need a job now….

ah decisions… car or computer or 52″ LCD home theatre system…. what to do now…. argh….kuso

SO, thus I’ll bid you, my dear reader, (yes I know you are the only one) goodbye until I have the urge to share my portmanteau of emotions. Or same time next week.

also… this laptops lcd screen is giving problems…. bagh screwed up colours and shit……

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

